Two Mason Officers Were Members of the 150th Basic Peace Officer Class Graduate


MASON, OH -- Mason Police Department's Trevor M. McCracken and Zach N. Proctor were Members of the 150th Basic Peace Officer Class who received training certificates during a graduation ceremony held Wednesday afternoon at the Ohio State Highway Patrol Training Academy in Columbus. McCracken and Proctor were among the 44 graduates who will assume duties as peace officers for 31 Ohio agencies.

The 21-week basic course began in February. The Ohio State Highway Patrol Training Academy’s Basic Peace Officer course meets and exceeds the training requirements developed by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and offers comprehensive instruction in more than 150 topics, including criminal law, traffic law, community relations, physical training, self-defense, firearms, emergency vehicle operations, standardized field sobriety testing and electronic speed measuring devices. The Patrol’s Training Academy is recognized as a “STAR-certified” academy by the Ohio Attorney General for its excellence in training.

Jonathan Shih, Bexley Police Department, was selected as class speaker by fellow class members and addressed the assembly.

Class honors went to the following:

  • Overall Top Performer – Stephen M. Moore, Bay Village Police Department
  • Top Academics – Jonathan Shih, Bexley Police Department
  • Top Firearms – Stephen J. Shafer, Mansfield Division of Police
  • Top Physical Fitness – Korban B. Bradshaw, Mentor Police Department
  • Top Driving – Troy R. Sutliff, Twinsburg Police Department

Chief Jay McDonald, Marion Police Department, was the featured speaker for the ceremony and addressed the graduates and an audience of friends, relatives, and law enforcement officers. Ohio Department of Public Safety Chief of Staff Benjamin B. Suver and Colonel Charles A. Jones, Patrol Superintendent, both provided remarks.

More News from Mason
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified