Officers From Mason And Middletown Were Part Of The 149th Basic Peace Officer Class Graduation


MASON, OH  -- Samuel G. Adams and Joshua G. Grant  both of the Mason Police Department and Anthony D. Scott and Conant J. Smith both of Middletown Division of Police were among the 46 graduates of the 149th Basic Peace Officer Class. 

The graduates received their training certificates during a graduation ceremony held Friday afternoon at the Ohio State Highway Patrol Training Academy. 

The 21-week basic course began in August. The course was developed by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and offers comprehensive instruction in more than 150 topics, including criminal law, traffic law, community relations, physical training, self-defense, firearms, emergency vehicle operations, standardized field sobriety testing and electronic speed measuring devices. 

Zachary M. Hudson, ODNR, Parks and Watercraft, was selected as class speaker by fellow class members and addressed the assembly. Michael Rankin, First Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Franklin County Prosecutor’s Office, was the featured speaker for the ceremony. Both Ohio Department of Public Safety Chief of Staff Benjamin B. Suver and Patrol Superintendent Colonel Charles A. Jones also provided remarks. 

Class honors went to the following:

  • Overall Top Performer – Brady M. Stevens, ODNR, Division of Wildlife
  • Top Academics – Emma C. White, Marion Police Department
  • Top Firearms – Zachary L. Bayer, West Chester Police Department
  • Top Physical Fitness – Megan L. Bedard, ODNR, Parks and Watercraft
  • Top Driving – Connor S. Robinson, ODNR, Parks and Watercraft

The 46 graduates will assume duties as peace officers for 22 Ohio agencies.

More News from Franklin
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified